Artist in Residence 2018/2019

Daniil Trifonov

Daniil Trifonov
(Photo: Dario Acosta)

Daniil Trifonov made his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker in 2016 with one of the most difficult works in the repertoire: Sergei Rachmaninov’s Third Piano Concerto, which is both virtuosic and romantic and demands extraordinary pianistic skill. “Again and again there were moments of magical affinity with the Philharmoniker,” wrote the critic in the Tagesspiegel. At his next appearance in January 2018 Trifonov displayed another facet of his artistry, playing Robert Schumann’s Piano Concerto, which was composed as an alternative to the purely virtuoso concertos of that time. Now the young Russian musician returns to the orchestra as Artist in Residence for the 2018/2019 season.

An exceptional pianistic talent

Daniil Trifonov is regarded as an exceptional pianistic talent. In 2011 he won two prestigious international competitions, the Rubinstein Piano Competition in Tel Aviv and the Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow. Within a short time, the son of professional musicians, who gave his first public concert performance with an orchestra at the age of eight, joined the ranks of the world’s leading pianists. A student of Tatiana Zelikman and Sergei Babayan, he impresses audiences with his technical brilliance and musical expressiveness. Trifonov seems to literally merge with the piano. With uncanny assurance he elicits a wide range of sounds from the instrument, from a tender pianissimo to the most powerful fortissimo. A decisive experience for his understanding of sound was the first time he heard Alexander Scriabin’s symphonic poem The Poem of Ecstasy, at the age of twelve. Since then he has endeavoured to convey the richness of Scriabin’s orchestral colours on the piano. The fact that he composes himself is an added advantage which enables him to develop his own particular approach to the works he interprets.

Soloist, chamber musician, composer

Daniil Trifonov has attracted attention not only with his distinctive playing but also because of his unconventional practice techniques. In order to gain the necessary strength for his fortissimo eruptions, he practices under water in a swimming pool or lying on the piano bench. “Every pianist must try to find a flexible and relaxing way to play,” he said in an interview for the Digital Concert Hall. As Artist in Residence Daniil Trifonov will display the full spectrum of his expertise, both as soloist and chamber musician. The artist will present the first concert of his residency with scholars from the Karajan Academy. During his second appearance the pianist will accompany baritone Matthias Goerne in a lieder programme. A solo recital follows in which Trifonov will play piano works by Ludwig van Beethoven, Robert Schumann and Sergei Prokofiev. He will also present a chamber music concert with members of the Berliner Philharmoniker, appearing both as pianist and composer, performing his own piano quintet. The conclusion and highlight of the residency will be the orchestral concert conducted by Andris Nelsons at the end of the season, at which Daniil Trifonov will play Alexander Scriabin’s rarely heard Piano Concerto.

Concerts

Sunday,

30 Sep 2018,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Chamber Music | Serie: KA

Sun, 30 Sep 2018, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

Daniil Trifonov piano

Scholars of the Karajan Academy

Gregor Mayrhofer conductor

Works by Johann Sebastian Bach, Alfred Schnittke and Igor Stravinsky

read more

Sunday,

06 Jan 2019,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Chamber Music | Serie: V

Sun, 06 Jan 2019, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

Matthias Goerne baritone

Daniil Trifonov piano

Works by Alban Berg, Hugo Wolf, Robert Schumann, Dmitri Shostakovich and Johannes Brahms

read more

Thursday,

21 Feb 2019,
20:00

Philharmonie

Chamber Music | Serie: U

Thu, 21 Feb 2019, 20:00
Philharmonie

Daniil Trifonov piano

Works by Ludwig van Beethoven, Robert Schumann and Sergei Prokofiev

read more

Thursday,

20 Jun 2019,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: E

Thu, 20 Jun 2019, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Andris Nelsons conductor

Daniil Trifonov piano

Works by Alexander Skrjabin and Dmitri Shostakovich

read more

Friday,

21 Jun 2019,
20:00

Philharmonie

Sonderkonzert

Fri, 21 Jun 2019, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Andris Nelsons conductor

Daniil Trifonov piano

Works by Alexander Skrjabin and Dmitri Shostakovich

read more

Saturday,

22 Jun 2019,
19:00

Philharmonie

Serie: N

Sat, 22 Jun 2019, 19:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Andris Nelsons conductor

Daniil Trifonov piano

Works by Alexander Skrjabin and Dmitri Shostakovich

read more watch online

Sunday,

23 Jun 2019,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Chamber Music | Serie: Q

Sun, 23 Jun 2019, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

Daniil Trifonov piano

Daniel Stabrawa violin

Christian Stadelmann violin

Amihai Grosz viola

Bruno Delepelaire cello

Works by Robert Schumann, Daniil Trifonov and Johannes Brahms

read more

Artist in Residence 2018/2019

Daniil Trifonov

Daniil Trifonov
(Foto: Dario Acosta)

Sein Debüt bei den Berliner Philharmonikern 2016 bestritt Daniil Trifonov mit einem der schwersten Werke der Literatur: Sergej Rachmaninows Drittem Klavierkonzert, das – hochvirtuos und romantisch zugleich – herausragende pianistische Fähigkeiten verlangt. »Immer wieder kommt es dabei zu Momenten magischer Verbundenheit mit den Philharmonikern«, hieß es anschließend in der Kritik des Tagesspiegels. Bei seinem nächsten Auftritt im Januar 2018 zeigte Trifonov eine andere Facette seiner Kunst und spielte Robert Schumanns Klavierkonzert, das als Gegenentwurf zu den reinen Virtuosenkonzerten der damaligen Zeit entstand. Nun wird der junge russische Musiker als Artist in Residence der Saison 2018/2019 zum Orchester zurückkehren.

Pianistisches Ausnahmetalent

Daniil Trifonov gilt als pianistisches Ausnahmetalent. 2011 gewann er zwei prestigeträchtige Internationale Wettbewerbe: den Rubinstein-Klavierwettbewerb in Tel Aviv und den Tschaikowsky-Wettbewerb in Moskau. Innerhalb kürzester Zeit spielte sich der Spross einer Musikerfamilie, der als Achtjähriger sein erstes öffentliches Orchesterkonzert gab, an die Weltspitze. Ausgebildet von Tatiana Zelikman und Sergei Babayan beeindruckt er durch technische Brillanz und musikalische Ausdruckskraft. Trifonov scheint förmlich mit dem Klavier zu verschmelzen: Mit traumwandlerischer Sicherheit entlockt er dem Instrument die unterschiedlichsten Klänge, vom innigsten Pianissimo bis zum kraftvollsten Fortissimo. Entscheidend für sein Klangverständnis wurde für den damals Zwölfjährigen die Begegnung mit Alexander Skrjabins Symphonischer Dichtung Le Poème de l’extase. Seither strebt er danach, den Klangreichtum der skrjabinschen Orchesterfarben auch auf das Klavier zu übertragen. Dass er selbst komponiert, ist ein zusätzlicher Vorteil, der ihm einen eigenen, besonderen Zugang zu den von ihm interpretierten Werken ermöglicht.

Solist, Kammermusiker, Komponist

Daniil Trifonov macht nicht nur durch sein einzigartiges Klavierspiel von sich reden, sondern auch durch seine unkonventionellen Übetechniken: Um die nötige Kraft für seine Fortissimo-Ausbrüche zu erwerben, trainiert er im Swimmingpool unter Wasser oder auf dem Klavierstuhl liegend. »Jeder muss für sich einen Weg finden, entspannt und flexibel zu spielen», meinte er in einem Interview für die Digital Concert Hall. Als Artist in Residence präsentiert Daniil Trifonov das gesamte Spektrum seines Könnens, sowohl solistisch als auch kammermusikalisch. Das erste Konzert seiner Residency gestaltet der Künstler gemeinsam mit den Stipendiaten der Karajan-Akademie. Bei seinem zweiten Auftritt stellt sich der Pianist als Begleiter des Baritons Matthias Goerne in den Dienst des Liedgesangs. Es folgt ein Soloabend, in dem Trifonov Klavierwerke von Ludwig van Beethoven, Robert Schumann und Sergej Prokofjew interpretiert. Schließlich gibt er einen Kammermusikabend mit Mitgliedern der Berliner Philharmoniker, bei dem er nicht nur als Pianist, sondern mit seinem Klavierquintett auch als Komponist zu erleben ist. Schluss- und Höhepunkt der Residency bildet das Orchesterkonzert unter der Leitung von Andris Nelsons am Ende der Saison, bei dem Daniil Trifonov das selten aufgeführte Klavierkonzert von Alexander Skrjabin spielt.

 

 

Konzerte

Sonntag,

06. Jan 2019,
20:00 Uhr

Kammermusiksaal

Kammermusik | Aboserie: V

So, 06. Jan 2019, 20:00 Uhr
Kammermusiksaal

Matthias Goerne Bariton

Daniil Trifonov Klavier

Werke von Alban Berg, Hugo Wolf, Robert Schumann, Dmitri Schostakowitsch und Johannes Brahms

mehr lesen

Donnerstag,

21. Feb 2019,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Kammermusik | Aboserie: U

Do, 21. Feb 2019, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Daniil Trifonov Klavier

Werke von Ludwig van Beethoven, Robert Schumann und Sergej Prokofjew

mehr lesen

Donnerstag,

20. Jun 2019,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: E

Do, 20. Jun 2019, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Andris Nelsons Dirigent

Daniil Trifonov Klavier

Werke von Alexander Skrjabin und Dmitri Schostakowitsch

mehr lesen

Freitag,

21. Jun 2019,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: Sonderkonzert

Fr, 21. Jun 2019, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Andris Nelsons Dirigent

Daniil Trifonov Klavier

Werke von Alexander Skrjabin und Dmitri Schostakowitsch

mehr lesen

Samstag,

22. Jun 2019,
19:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: N

Sa, 22. Jun 2019, 19:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Andris Nelsons Dirigent

Daniil Trifonov Klavier

Werke von Alexander Skrjabin und Dmitri Schostakowitsch

mehr lesen online sehen

Sonntag,

23. Jun 2019,
20:00 Uhr

Kammermusiksaal

Kammermusik | Aboserie: Q

So, 23. Jun 2019, 20:00 Uhr
Kammermusiksaal

Daniil Trifonov Klavier

Daniel Stabrawa Violine

Christian Stadelmann Violine

Amihai Grosz Viola

Bruno Delepelaire Violoncello

Werke von Robert Schumann, Daniil Trifonov und Johannes Brahms

mehr lesen