Cameron Carpenter at the organ of the Philharmonie

Strikingly glamouros

Eccentricity is his trademark. His outrageous outfits make Cameron Carpenter look more like a pop star, DJ, designer or movie star rather than what he actually is: one of the best organists of our time. He boasts a stupendous technique, with hands and feet gliding with impressive speed over manuals and pedals and – despite his virtuosity – he knows how to cast a spell over his audience with his obvious enjoyment in playing and making music. Anyone who has ever heard Cameron Carpenter play acknowledges that the organ is not only a sacred but also a secular instrument.

An American in Berlin

Originally from Pennsylvania, he studied organ and composition at the prestigious Juilliard School. He then launched an international career. Since 2010, Cameron Carpenter has lived in Berlin, a city that fascinates him very much. “The Berliners are very patient with me and my eccentricities,” as he says 2012 in an interview with the magazine 128 – The Magazine of the Berliner Philharmoniker. He not only knows the classical organ repertoire, he also transcribes piano and orchestral works for his instrument and writes his own compositions. His concerto for orchestra and organ Der Skandal was premiered in Cologne in January 2011.

Once again at the Karl Schuke organ of the Philharmonie

Carpenter sat for the first time at the Karl Schuke Organ of the Philharmonie, newly restored and with several extra registers, shortly after his move to Berlin in November 2010. He also delighted audiences of all ages with his playing at the open day in May 2012, which was reason enough to allow him to open the organ concert series in September 2012. And this season too, he will be the first organist to take to the console. This time he will surprise his audience with original works by Johann Sebastian Bach and Marcel Dupré and some of his own transcriptions, which include Alexander Scriabin's Fourth Piano Sonata and Maurice Ravel's La Valse.

carpenter 1
Cameron Carpenter (Foto: Michael Hart)
Video Preview

Open day 2012: Cameron Carpenter and Sarah Willis explain the Karl Schuke organ

Concert

See the whole season calendar
There are no concerts available for your selection.

Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berliner BühnenGo to berlin-buehnen.de

Cameron Carpenter an der Orgel der Philharmonie

Auffallend glamourös

Exzentrik ist sein Markenzeichen. Seinen schrillen Outfits nach würde man Cameron Carpenter eher für einen Popstar, DJ, Designer oder Filmstar halten, nur nicht für das was er eigentlich ist: einer der besten Organisten unserer Zeit. Er besticht durch eine stupende Technik, lässt Hände und Füße beeindruckend schnell über Manuale und Pedale gleiten und versteht es, trotz aller Virtuosität sein Publikum durch seine große Spielfreude und Musizierlust in den Bann zu ziehen. Wer Cameron Carpenter einmal gehört hat, erkennt, dass die Orgel nicht nur ein sakrales, sondern auch ein weltliches Instrument ist.

Ein Amerikaner in Berlin

Der aus Pennsylvania stammende Musiker studierte an der renommierten New Yorker Juilliard School Orgel und Komposition. Anschließend startete er eine internationale Karriere, seit 2010 lebt Cameron Carpenter in Berlin, eine Stadt, die ihn sehr fasziniert. »Die Berliner bringen einfach eine besondere Geduld für mich und meine Exzentrik auf«, gesteht er 2012 in einem Interview der Zeitschrift 128 – Das Magazin der Berliner Philharmoniker. Er beherrscht nicht nur die klassische Orgelliteratur, sondern transkribiert Klavier- und Orchesterwerke für sein Instrument und schreibt eigene Kompositionen. Im Januar 2011 wurde in Köln sein Konzert für Orchester und Orgel Der Skandal uraufgeführt.

Und immer wieder an der Karl-Schuke-Orgel der Philharmonie

An der gerade frisch renovierten und um einige Register erweiterten Karl-Schuke-Orgel der Philharmonie saß Carpenter erstmals kurz nach seinem Umzug nach Berlin im November 2010. Außerdem begeisterte er am Tag der offenen Tür im Mai 2012 Groß und Klein mit seiner unterhaltsamen Orgelführung. Ein guter Grund, ihn die Orgelreihe im September 2012 eröffnen zu lassen. Und auch in dieser Saison setzt er sich als erster der Organistn an den Spieltisch. Diesmal überrascht er sein Publikum mit Originalwerken von Johann Sebastian Bach und Marcel Dupré sowie eigenen Transkriptionen, u. a. von Alexander Skrjabins Vierter Klaviersonate und Maurice Ravels La Valse.

carpenter 1
Cameron Carpenter (Foto: Michael Hart)
Video Preview

Tag der offenen Tür 2012: Cameron Carpenter und Sarah Willis stellen die Karl-Schuke-Orgel vor

Konzert

Zum vollständigen Konzertkalender
Für die gewählte Auswahl sind keine Konzerte verfügbar.

Newsletter-Service Regelmäßig informiert über das aktuelle Programm und Highlights aus der Welt der Philharmoniker.

Alle Veranstaltungen in der Philharmonie finden Sie auch auf:

Berliner Bühnenzu berlin-buehnen.de