Bernard Haitink

Guest conductor for 50 years

Almost no other guest conductor has had ties with the Berliner Philharmoniker for longer or has appeared with them more regularly than Bernard Haitink. In March 1964, just months after Hans Scharounʼs Philharmonie opened, the Dutchman conducted the orchestra for the first time. He was then 35 years old and had been head of the Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam for three years.

An inconspicuous beginning

His debut was overshadowed by another philharmonic event: Claudio Arrau was performing a cycle of all five Beethoven piano concertos. On the nights that Haitink conducted, the concertos Nos. 1 and 5 were on the programme. The focus of the reviews was of course the pianist, and the young conductor was only mentioned with a few, if favourable, words: they all agreed his conducting was open-minded, attentive and sensitive. Only the Berlin Tagesspiegel prophesied: “He could have it in him to become a real Beethoven conductor, something the modern concert hall so desperately needs.”

The critic was right: Within a few years, Bernard Haitink had developed into a specialist in the works of the First Viennese School. But not only that: Brahms, Bruckner and Mahler came to be regular features of his repertoire. In addition, Haydn and Mozart appeared from time to time on the programmes of his guest performances with the orchestra, as did the occasional representative of Modernism, such as Ravel, Stravinsky or Bartók. He accompanied the orchestra on several concert tours and also on many occasions to the Salzburg Easter Festival. The first time, in 1991, just two years after the death of Herbert von Karajan, he conducted the festivalʼs production of Mozartʼs Le nozze di Figaro.

Mutual liking

“I love the open approach the Berliners have to music,” Bernard Haitink, who celebrates his 85th birthday in March, said a few years ago in the publication Die Berliner Philharmoniker - das magazin. “When they play with conductors they like, they bring an extra special something to their playing.” The mutual liking between orchestra and conductor was clear, and from 2004, their working together has taken on an extra intensity: Since then, the Dutchman has been coming to the Berliner Philharmoniker two times per season. And he never fails to surprise Berlin audiences. There was even a small première at his most recent appearance in October 2012 when Haitink conducted Richard Wagnerʼs Siegried Idyll and the Wesendonck Lieder with the orchestra for the first time. And he had last conducted Beethovenʼs Eroica 23 years previously. “Music like a force of nature, free from showmanship by the performers,” wrote the Berliner Zeitung afterwards. The programme of his upcoming concert – Mozart's Piano Concerto “Jenamy” and Bruckner's Fourth Symphony – was incidentally performed previously by Haitink together with the Philharmoniker in 1996.

Video Preview

2012: Bernard Haitink conducts Beethoven’s Eroica (Excerpt)

Bernard Haitink in the Digital Concert Hall

Visit the Digital Concert Hall, where you can experience live the concert on 15 March. In the concert archive you find Bernard Haitink’s concerts with the Berliner Philharmoniker since 2009.

Live Concert Concert Archive
haitink en
Applause after Mahler's Third Symphony, 15 December 1990 (Foto: Reinhard Friedrich)

Concerts

To the whole seasons calendar
There are no concerts available for your selection.

Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berliner BühnenGo to berlin-buehnen.de

Bernard Haitink

Seit 50 Jahren Gastdirigent der Berliner Philharmoniker

Kaum ein Gastdirigent ist den Berliner Philharmonikern länger und beständiger verbunden als Bernard Haitink. Vor 50 Jahren im März 1964, nur wenige Monate nach der Eröffnung der von Hans Scharoun erbauten Philharmonie, stand der Niederländer zum ersten Mal am Pult des Orchesters. Damals war er 35 Jahre jung und seit drei Jahren Chef des Amsterdamer Concertgebouworkest.

Ein unauffälliger Anfang

Sein Debüt stand im Schatten eines anderen philharmonischen Ereignisses: Claudio Arrau spielte einen Zyklus mit allen fünf Klavierkonzerten Ludwig van Beethovens. An den Abenden, die Haitink dirigierte, standen die Konzerte Nr. 1 und 5 auf dem Programm. Der Fokus der Konzertkritik lag natürlich auf dem Pianisten, der junge Dirigent wurde nur mit wenigen, wenngleich wohlwollenden Worten bedacht: Aufgeschlossen, aufmerksam und feinfühlig sei sein Dirigat gewesen, hieß es allgemein. Nur der Tagesspiegel prophezeite: »Es könnte sein, dass in ihm ein wirklicher Beethoven-Dirigent heranwächst, dessen der moderne Konzertsaal so dringend bedarf.«

Der Kritiker sollte Recht behalten: Im Laufe weniger Jahre entwickelte sich Bernard Haitink zu einem Spezialisten für die Werke des Wiener Klassikers. Aber nicht nur das. Brahms, Bruckner, Mahler wurden zu weiteren Fixpunkten seines Repertoires. Daneben setzte er aber auch immer wieder Haydn und Mozart, gelegentlich aber auch Vertreter der klassischen Moderne wie Ravel, Strawinsky oder Bartók auf die Programme seiner philharmonischen Gastspiele. Er begleitete das Orchester auf mehreren Konzerttourneen und wirkte auch immer wieder bei den Salzburger Osterfestspielen mit, erstmals 1991, als er nur zwei Jahre nach dem Tod Herbert von Karajans die Festspielinszenierung von Mozarts Le nozze di Figaro dirigierte.

Gegenseitige Symphathie

»Ich liebe die offene Art der Berliner, die Musik anzugehen«, gestand Bernard Haitink, der im März seinen 85. Geburtstag feiert, vor einigen Jahren der Zeitschrift Die Berliner Philharmoniker – das magazin. »Wenn sie mit Dirigenten spielen, die sie mögen, dann fügen sie deren Arbeit wirklich etwas Tolles hinzu.« Die gegenseitige Sympathie zwischen Orchester und Dirigent ist offenkundig, die Zusammenarbeit wurde 2004 noch intensiviert. Kommt doch der Niederländer seither oftmals zwei Mal pro Saison zu den Berliner Philharmonikern. Und immer wieder gelingt es ihm, das Berliner Publikum zu überraschen. Bei seinem letzten Auftritt im Oktober 2012 gab es eine kleine Premiere: Richard Wagners Siegfried-Idyll und die Wesendonck-Lieder hatte Haitink bislang noch nie mit dem Orchester musiziert. Und Beethovens Eroica dirigierte vor 23 Jahren. »Eine Musik wie ein Naturereignis, frei von der Selbstdarstellung der Ausführenden,« hieß es nach dem Konzert in der Berliner Zeitung. Das Programm seines kommenden Konzert – Mozarts Klavierkonzert »Jenamy« und Bruckners Vierte Symphonie – hat er übrigens schon einmal 1996 bei den Philharmonikern aufgeführt.

Video Preview

2012: Bernard Haitink dirigiert Beethovens Eroica (Ausschnitt)

Bernard Haitink in der Digital Concert Hall

Besuchen Sie die Digital Concert Hall und erleben Sie live das Konzert am 15. März. Außerdem sind dort Bernard Haitinks Konzerte mit den Berliner Philharmonikern seit 2009 archiviert.

Live-Konzert Konzert-Archiv
haitink 1
Schlussapplaus nach Mahlers Dritter Symphonie, 15. Dezember 1990 (Foto: Reinhard Friedrich)

Konzerte

Zum vollständigen Konzertkalender
Für die gewählte Auswahl sind keine Konzerte verfügbar.

Newsletter-Service Regelmäßig informiert über das aktuelle Programm und Highlights aus der Welt der Philharmoniker.

Alle Veranstaltungen in der Philharmonie finden Sie auch auf:

Berliner Bühnenzu berlin-buehnen.de