Berliner Philharmoniker

From 2 to 22 September 2014, the 2014/2015 Berlin concert season gets underway with Musikfest Berlin, organised by the Berliner Festspiele in cooperation with the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation. It is the 10th year of the orchestral festival, founded in 2005, and the succesor to what was formerly the Berliner Festwochen. Over 21 days, 31 events with 75 works by 24 composers will be presented in the Philharmonie and its chamber music hall, performed by around 25 orchestras, instrumental and vocal ensembles and by numerous soloists from Berlin and the international music scene.

Schumann and Brahms

It was time, “finally, to prepare for and facilitate the advent of a new poetic age,” noted the fledging chief editor Robert Schumann in the newly founded Neue Zeitschrift fur Musik in 1835. Some 20 years later, Schumann set his hopes on Johannes Brahms, who “turned the piano into an orchestra of lamenting and loudly rejoicing voices.” The point of departure for the Musikfest programme is formed by Brahms and Schumann, as well as the development of the modern orchestra, which was decisively shaped by the production and development of new instruments. One revolutionary technical innovation which Johannes Brahms still considered artistically inadequate was fitting valves to the “natural horn” which finally enabled the horn to play a three and a half octave chromatic scale. In Brahms' opinion, they damaged the character of the natural tone so much that he disparagingly referred to the then modern valve horn as a “brass viola”. A piece of musically authentic nature seemed lost, and nostalgia appears in a birthday greeting Brahms sent to Clara from the Swiss Alps on 12 September1868, with the salutation Also blus das Alphorn heut (Thus blew the Alpine horn to-day), the alphorn motif that he was later to use in the finale of his First Symphony, “Hoch aufm Berg, tief im Thal, grüß ich dich viel tausendmal” (high on the mountain, deep in the valley, I send you greetings a thousandfold). Robert Schumann, who had died twelve years before, had, incidentally, very different thoughts regarding the valve horn. The newly invented brass instrument with its new possibilities were a welcome opportunity for him to compose his concert piece for four horns and orchestra. Both Robert Schumann's Konzertstück for Four Horns and Orchestra and Georg Friedrich Haas' recently composed concerto grosso Nr. 1 für vier Alphörner und großes Orchester will be performed at Musikfest Berlin. For Robert Schumann, the horn was the “soul of the orchestra”, and the instrument's presence can be felt throughout the Musikfest Berlin programme.

Inspiring Bach

Another strand of the festival programme involves a further demand the 20-year-old editor Robert Schumann deemed necessary for the “new poetic age”: “To acknowledge the bygone age and its creations and to draw attention to the fact that new artistic beauties can only be strengtened by such a pure source.” For Schumann and Brahms, this bygone age meant in particular the music of Johann Sebastian Bach, whose works have shaped the programme of Musikfest Berlin not only in the form of independent presentations, but also through their influence, informing the works of Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Anton Bruckner, Max Reger, Webern and others. Finally, the “new poetic age” is represented – as the third strand – in the works of composers of our own present and recent past, in the music of Aribert Reimann, Helmut Lachenmann, Wolfgang Rihm, Georg Friedrich Haas, Jörg Widmann, Enno Poppe, Sofia Gubaidulina, Alfred Schnittke and György Ligeti.

Mutter
Enno Poppe
Sir Simon Rattle
Stefan Dohr
Mariss Jansons
Aimard
Pierre-Laurent Aimard
Kuss Quartett

All concerts of the Musikfest Berlin 2014

Go to calendar

Saturday

20

September
2014

Philharmonie

19:00

read more

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Conductor

Works by Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms

Saturday

20

September
2014

Kammermusiksaal

20:00

read more

Musikfest Berlin

Ensemblekollektiv Berlin

Enno Poppe Direction

Enno Poppe Speicher I-VI for large ensemble Complete performance

Sunday

21

September
2014

Philharmonie

11:00

read more

Musikfest Berlin

Konzerthausorchester Berlin

Iván Fischer Conductor

Vocalconsort Berlin

Marie-Luise Neunecker Horn

Tobias Walenciak Chorus Master

Works by Johann Sebastian Bach, György Ligeti and Gustav Mahler

Sunday

21

September
2014

Kammermusiksaal

16:00

read more

Musikfest Berlin

IPPNW Charity Concert For the Alternative Nobel Prize Right Livelihood Award

The 12 Cellists of the Berlin Philharmonic

Mariani Piano Quartet

Works by Johann Sebastian Bach, Robert Schumann and Richard Strauss

Sunday

21

September
2014

Philharmonie

20:00

read more

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Conductor

Works by Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms

Monday

22

September
2014

Philharmonie

20:00

read more

Musikfest Berlin

Konzerthausorchester Berlin

Iván Fischer Conductor

Vocalconsort Berlin

Marie-Luise Neunecker Horn

Tobias Walenciak Chorus Master

Works by Johann Sebastian Bach, György Ligeti and Gustav Mahler

Tuesday

23

September
2014

Philharmonie

20:00

read more

Serie: A

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Conductor

Works by Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms

Wednesday

24

September
2014

Philharmonie

20:00

read more

Serie: C

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Conductor

Works by Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms

Thursday

25

September
2014

Philharmonie

20:00

read more

Serie: F

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Conductor

Works by Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms

Friday

26

September
2014

Philharmonie

20:00

read more

Non-subscription concert

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Conductor

Works by Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms

Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berliner BühnenGo to berlin-buehnen.de

Berliner Philharmoniker

Vom 2. bis 22. September 2014 startet das Berliner Konzertleben mit dem Musikfest Berlin, veranstaltet von den Berliner Festspielen in Kooperation mit der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker, in die Spielzeit 2014/2015. Es ist die 10. Ausgabe des 2005 in Nachfolge der früheren Berliner Festwochen gegründeten Orchesterfestivals. An 21 Tagen werden in der Philharmonie und deren Kammermusiksaal 31 Veranstaltungen mit über 75 Werken von 24 Komponisten präsentiert, aufgeführt von rund 25 Orchestern, Instrumental- und Vokalensembles und von zahlreichen Solisten des internationalen Musiklebens und der Musikstadt Berlin.

Schumann und Brahms

Es gelte, »endlich eine neue poetische Zeit vorzubereiten, beschleunigen zu helfen«, notiert 1835 der frischgebackene Chefredakteur Robert Schumann in der gerade gegründeten Neuen Zeitschrift für Musik. Rund 20 Jahre später setzt Schumann neue Hoffnungen auf Johannes Brahms: Aus »dem Klavier machte er ein Orchester von wehklagenden und lautjubelnden Stimmen«. Brahms und Schumann bilden den Ausgangspunkt für die Programmatik des Musikfests, außerdem die Entwicklung des modernen Orchesters, das entscheidend von der Fabrikation und Entwicklung neuer Instrumente geprägt wurde. Eine revolutionäre technische Erneuerung, die Johannes Brahms noch als künstlerisch unzureichend erachtete, war die Ausstattung des »Naturhorns« mit Ventilen, durch die ganze dreieinhalb Oktaven endlich kontinuierlich chromatisch durchschritten werden konnten. Für Brahms beschädigten diese den Klangcharakter des Naturhaften so sehr, dass er von dem damals modernen Ventilhorn despektierlich als einer »Blechbratsche« sprach. Ein Stück musikalisch authentischer Natur schien verloren, und Nostalgie macht sich kund, wenn Brahms in einem Clara Schumann zugedachten Geburtstagsgruß am 12. September 1868 aus den Schweizer Alpen, versehen mit der Überschrift Also blus das Alphorn heut, das Alphornmotiv notierte, das er später im Finale seiner Ersten Symphonie verwenden sollte: »Hoch aufm Berg, tief im Thal, grüß ich dich viel tausendmal.« Robert Schumann, zwölf Jahre zuvor bereits verstorben, hatte übrigens über das Ventilhorn anders gedacht. Ihm war das neu erfundene Blasinstrument mit seinen neuen Möglichkeiten willkommener Anlass, das Konzertstück für vier Hörner und Orchester zu komponieren. Beim Musikfest Berlin ist beides zu erleben: Robert Schumanns Konzertstück für vier Hörner und Orchester und das jüngst entstandene Concerto grosso Nr. 1 für vier Alphörner und großes Orchester von Georg Friedrich Haas. Das Horn war Robert Schumann die »Seele des Orchesters«, und so zieht sich das Instrument durch das Programm des Musikfest Berlin.

Inspirationsquelle Bach

Ein anderer Strang des Festivalprogramms geht einer weiteren Forderung des 20-jährigen Redakteurs Robert Schumann nach, von der er die »neue poetische Zeit« gestützt sehen wollte: »An die alte Zeit und ihre Wege mit allem Nachdruck zu erinnern, darauf aufmerksam zu machen, wie nur an so reinen Quellen neue Kunstschönheiten gekräftigt werden können.« Die alte Zeit: Das war für Schumann und Brahms vor allem die Musik Johann Sebastian Bachs. Dessen Werke prägten das Musikfest Berlin-Programm in Form selbstständiger Präsentationen, aber auch subkutan und vermittelt die Werke von Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Anton Bruckner, Max Reger, Anton Webern und anderen. Schließlich ist die »neue poetische Zeit« präsent – als dritter Strang – in den Werken der Komponisten unserer eigenen Gegenwart und jüngsten Vergangenheit: in der Musik von Aribert Reimann, Helmut Lachenmann, Wolfgang Rihm, Georg Friedrich Haas, Jörg Widmann, Enno Poppe, Sofia Gubaidulina, Alfred Schnittke und György Ligeti.

Mutter
Enno Poppe
Sir Simon Rattle
Stefan Dohr
Mariss Jansons
Aimard
Pierre-Laurent Aimard
Kuss Quartett

Alle Konzerte des Musikfests

Zum Konzertkalender
Für die gewählte Auswahl sind keine Konzerte verfügbar.

Newsletter-Service Regelmäßig informiert über das aktuelle Programm und Highlights aus der Welt der Philharmoniker.

Alle Veranstaltungen in der Philharmonie finden Sie auch auf:

Berliner Bühnen zu berlin-buehnen.de