Berliner Philharmoniker
Our Partner Deutsche Bank

History of the Berliner Philharmoniker
The era of Wilhelm Furtwängler

Musical magician and power monger

Wilhelm Furtwängler

1886–1954, principal conductor 1922–1934 and 1952–1954

When Arthur Nikisch – principal conductor of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra starting in 1895 – died in 1922, 36-year old Wilhelm Furtwängler applied to become his successor, convincing both the members of the orchestra and the management. He was a musical personality who built on the accomplishments of his predecessors Hans von Bülow and Nikisch and helped the orchestra continue to expand its renown. Like Nikisch, Furtwängler also considered himself the re-creator of works. His unconventional conducting technique was fabled: it required great personal responsibility and sensitivity from the musicians. Furtwängler formed the Berliner Philharmoniker into his very own instrument, one that ingeniously realized his interpretation ideas. Beethoven, Brahms and Bruckner were the cornerstones of his repertoire, but he also championed contemporary composers like Prokofiev, Stravinsky, Bartók, Schönberg and Hindemith – not always to the liking of the audience. And starting in 1933 even less in accordance with the wishes of the National Socialist leaders. In 1934 things came to a head: after the NS government forbade the world premiere of Hindemith’s opera Mathis der Maler, Furtwängler stepped down from his position as principal conductor. One year later, he returned to the Philharmoniker – he who called himself an apolitical artist, who never belonged to the NSDAP and who spoke up for many Jewish musicians – only as conductor of the Philharmonic Concerts, however, without assuming an official position. Nonetheless, he continued to consider the Philharmonic musicians “his” orchestra. Unlike his predecessors, he exerted a strong influence on artistic and organisational matters. After 1945 Furtwängler was banned from working. He was cleared in 1947 in a denazification process, and conducted the Philharmonic again in May of that year. However, he officially regained the position of principal conductor only in 1952, two years before he died.

The “Reich’s orchestra”

Even triumphant successes with Wilhelm Furtwängler could not improve the Berliner Philharmoniker’s precarious financial situation. In 1933 the orchestra was in a particularly difficult existential crisis and saw only one way out: transforming into a national orchestra. The National Socialist leadership willingly took over financing the famous orchestra so as to adorn their events with them. For the orchestra, the years of the Third Reich were a balancing act between complying with cultural-political and ideological guidelines and preserving artistic autonomy. While they enjoyed a privileged position (the musicians were exempted from military service), they nonetheless repeatedly defied artistic and political pressures from the National Socialist ruling powers. The concert agency Wolff, a company run by Jews and an important partner of the Berlin Philharmonic from the onset, was not able to withstand the regime’s repressive measures and dissolved in 1935. On 30 January 1944 the Philharmonie was destroyed during a bombing raid. The orchestra, now without a home, continued to play: particularly in the State Opera, at the Admiralspalast, in the Berlin Cathedral. When Germany surrendered in May 1945, a new era began for the Berliner Philharmoniker as well.

“Zero hour” and a new beginning

Concert life was quickly resumed after the war ended, despite difficult conditions: the traditional hall destroyed, Furtwängler banned at first from performing and with an insecure material future. But in Leo Borchard, who had conducted them many times since 1933, the Philharmoniker quickly found a conductor for the difficult new beginning. The orchester played in various temporary quarters: in cinemas and community centres, in the Titaniapalast and the Admiralspalast as well as at the City Opera. The fruitful cooperation between Borchard and the Philharmoniker ended suddenly and tragically when the conductor was accidentally shot and killed one August evening by an American soldier. That was the moment for the young, unknown and still inexperienced Rumanian conductor Sergiu Celibidache. He was entrusted with conducting the orchestra, and proved to be a “genius with the baton” who conducted the Philharmoniker in a calm artistic manner through the turbulent post-war years – at first hoping to succeed Furtwängler. Besides this, a new young generation of conductors became frequent guests of the orchestra: Georg Solti, Ferenc Fricsay and André Cluytens. Over the years, the material situation was also remedied. At first supported by the Magistrate of the American sector, the Berliner Philharmoniker became a municipal institution in 1949. In the same year committed Berlin citizens founded the Society of the Friends of the Philharmonie e.V. (now Friends of the Berliner Philharmoniker e. V.) with the goal of helping the orchestra have its own concert hall once again.

furtwängler 1
1942: Wilhelm Furtwängler in conversation with the First Concertmaster Gerhard Taschner, in the background a portrait of Arthur Nikisch
Furtwängler
1940: Wilhelm Furtwängler conducts the orchestra in the old Philharmonic
Hindemith
1933: Paul Hindemith and members of the orchestra
Philharmonie
1944: destroyed Philharmonic
Borchard
Leo Borchard
Furtwängler 2
1935: Concert in front of the National Socialist rulers
Titania
Titania-Palast
Celibidache
Sergiu Celibidache

Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berliner BühnenGo to berlin-buehnen.de

Berliner Philharmoniker
Unser Partner Deutsche Bank

Geschichte der Berliner Philharmoniker
Die Ära Wilhelm Furtwängler

Musikmagier und Machtmensch

Wilhelm Furtwängler

1886–1954, Chefdirigent 1922–1934 und 1952–1954

Als Arthur Nikisch – seit 1895 Chefdirigent des Berliner Philharmonischen Orchesters – 1922 starb, bewarb sich der 36-jährige Wilhelm Furtwängler um dessen Nachfolge und überzeugte sowohl die Orchestermitglieder wie auch das Management. Mit ihm kam eine Musikerpersönlichkeit ans Pult der Berliner Philharmoniker, die auf den Errungenschaften seiner Vorgänger Hans von Bülow und Nikisch aufbaute und dem Orchester zu weiterhin steigendem Renommee verhalf. Wie Nikisch verstand sich auch Furtwängler als Neuschöpfer der Werke. Legendär war seine eigenwillige Schlagtechnik, die von den Musikern eine große Eigenverantwortlichkeit und Sensibilität forderte. Furtwängler formte die Berliner Philharmoniker zu seinem ureigensten Instrument, das seine interpretatorischen Vorstellungen kongenial umsetzte. Beethoven, Brahms und Bruckner bildeten die Eckpfeiler seines Repertoires, aber er setzte sich auch für zeitgenössische Komponisten wie Prokofjew, Strawinsky, Bartók, Schönberg und Hindemith ein – nicht immer zur Freude des Publikums, und ab 1933 schon gar nicht im Sinne der nationalsozialistischen Führung. 1934 kam es zum Eklat: Nachdem die NS-Regierung die Uraufführung von Hindemiths Oper Mathis der Maler verboten hatte, legte Furtwängler sein Amt als Chefdirigent nieder. Ein Jahr später kehrte er – der sich als unpolitischen Künstler bezeichnete, nie der NSDAP angehörte und sich für viele jüdische Musiker einsetzte – zu den Philharmonikern zurück – jedoch nur als Dirigent der Philharmonischen Konzerte, ohne offizielle Ämter zu übernehmen. Gleichwohl betrachtete er die Philharmoniker weiterhin als »sein« Orchester. Im Gegensatz zu seinen Vorgängern nahm er starken Einfluss auf dessen künstlerische und organisatorische Belange. Nach 1945 erhielt Furtwängler Berufsverbot. 1947 in einem Entnazifizierungsverfahren freigesprochen, stand er erstmals im Mai desselben Jahres wieder am Pult der Philharmoniker. Die Position des Chefdirigenten erhielt er offiziell allerdings erst 1952, zwei Jahre vor seinem Tod, zurück.

Das »Reichsorchester«

Auch die triumphalen Erfolge mit Wilhelm Furtwängler konnten die prekäre finanzielle Situation der Berliner Philharmoniker nicht verbessern. 1933 steckte das Orchester in einer besonders schweren Existenzkrise und sah nur einen Ausweg: die Umwandlung in ein Staatsorchester. Die nationalsozialistische Führung übernahm nur zu gerne die Finanzierung des berühmten Klangkörpers, mit dem sie sich auf ihren Veranstaltungen schmückte. Für das Orchester waren die Jahre des Dritten Reichs eine Gratwanderung zwischen der Erfüllung kulturpolitisch-ideologischer Vorgaben und der Bewahrung künstlerischer Autonomie. Es genoss zwar eine privilegierte Stellung (die Musiker waren vom Kriegsdienst freigestellt), widersetzte sich jedoch auch immer wieder der künstlerischen und politischen Einflussnahme durch die nationalsozialistischen Machthaber. Die Konzertagentur Wolff, ein jüdisch geführtes Unternehmen und von Anfang an ein wichtiger Partner der Berliner Philharmoniker, hielt den Repressalien des Regimes nicht stand und löste sich 1935 auf. Am 30. Januar 1944 wurde die Philharmonie bei einem Bombenangriff zerstört. Das Orchester, nun heimatlos geworden, spielte weiter: vor allem in der Staatsoper, im Admiralspalast, im Berliner Dom. Mit der Kapitulation Deutschlands im Mai 1945 begann auch für die Berliner Philharmoniker eine neue Zeit.

Stunde Null und Neuanfang

Der Konzertbetrieb wurde nach Kriegsende schnell wieder aufgenommen – trotz schwieriger Bedingungen: das angestammte Haus zerstört, Furtwängler vorerst mit Auftrittsverbot belegt und die materielle Zukunft ungesichert. Doch in Leo Borchard, der sie seit 1933 mehrfach geleitet hatte, fanden die Philharmoniker rasch einen Dirigenten für den schwierigen Neubeginn. Das Orchester spielte in verschiedenen Ausweichquartieren: in Kinos und Gemeindezentren, im Titania- und Admiralspalast sowie der Städtischen Oper. Die fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit zwischen Borchard und den Philharmonikern endete plötzlich und tragisch, als der Dirigent an einem Augustabend versehentlich von einem amerikanischen Soldaten erschossen wurde. Das war die Stunde des jungen, unbekannten und noch unerfahrenen rumänischen Dirigenten Sergiu Celibidache. Ihm wurde die Leitung des Orchesters anvertraut, und er erwies sich als »Taktstockgenie«, das die Philharmoniker künstlerisch sicher durch die unruhigen Nachkriegsjahre dirigierte – zugleich auf die Nachfolge Furtwänglers hoffend. Daneben begann eine neue junge Dirigentengeneration gerngesehene Gäste des Orchesters zu werden: Georg Solti, Ferenc Fricsay und André Cluytens. Im Laufe der Jahre klärte sich auch die materielle Situation. Anfänglich vom Magistrat des amerikanischen Sektors unterstützt, wurden die Berliner Philharmoniker 1949 eine städtische Einrichtung. Im selben Jahr gründeten engagierte Berliner Bürger die Gesellschaft der Freunde der Philharmonie e.V. (heute Freunde der Berliner Philharmoniker e. V.) mit dem Ziel, dem Orchester wieder zu einem eigenen Konzertsaal zu verhelfen.

furtwängler 1
1942: Wilhelm Furtwängler im Gespräch mit dem Ersten Konzertmeister Gerhard Taschner, im Hintergrund ein Gemälde von Arthur Nikisch
Furtwängler
1940: Konzert unter Wilhelm Furtwängler in der alten Philharmonie
Hindemith
1933: Paul Hindemith im Kreise Berliner Philharmoniker
Philharmonie
1944: Zerstörte Philharmonie
Borchard
Leo Borchard
Furtwängler 2
1935: Konzert vor den national­sozialistischen Machthabern
Titania
Titania-Palast
Celibidache
Sergiu Celibidache

Newsletter-Service Regelmäßig informiert über das aktuelle Programm und Highlights aus der Welt der Philharmoniker.

Alle Veranstaltungen in der Philharmonie finden Sie auch auf:

Berliner Bühnenzu berlin-buehnen.de