Berliner Philharmoniker

History of the Berliner Philharmoniker
The era of Hans von Bülow

A great orchestra educator

Hans von Bülow

1830–1894, principal conductor 1887–1892

In his day Hans von Bülow, who conducted the premiere of Tristan and was known as a brilliant Beethoven and Brahms interpreter, embodied the modern type of conductor: eccentric in his gestures, uncompromising, analytical in his musical work, expressive in his musical results. Not outwardly attractive but possessed of a consummate elegance – he always conducted wearing white kid gloves – he had a compelling, magical charisma. His lordly attitudes and extravagancies were known – and forgiven, because he was one thing above all: an orchestral educator to the nth degree.

Beyond uninspired mediocrity

Bülow had already made a first-class orchestra out of the provincial Meiningen court orchestra. Now he hoisted the Berlin Philharmonic, to whom he attested a great artistic intelligence, out of their “uninspired mediocrity” (Allgemeine Musikzeitung) and established standards that formed the basis for the orchestra’s later international fame. Despite his severity and his unrelenting passion for rehearsing, the Philharmoniker felt deeply attached to him as a person. Their collaboration lasted five years, before Bülow, who had suffered from nervous disorders since his childhood, retired from the concert business for health reasons. He died on 12 February 1894.

Intermezzo with Richard Strauss

His departure left a grievous void in Berlin’s musical life. The concert agent Hermann Wolff tried in vain to engage great conductors like Hans Richter and Felix Mottl; finally, he handed over the musical direction of his subscription concerts to the young Richard Strauss, one of Bülow’s pupils. Strauss, still at the beginning of his career and hoping to succeed Bülow, was not able to attract the Berlin audience into the Philharmonie with his progressive programmes. And Hermann Wolff soon had his eye on another conductor: Arthur Nikisch.

Bülow
Hans von Bülow
Bülow/Wolff
Hermann Wolff (l.) and Hans von Bülow

Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berliner BühnenGo to berlin-buehnen.de

Geschichte der Berliner Philharmoniker
Die Ära Hans von Bülow

Ein großer Orchestererzieher

Hans von Bülow

1830–1894, Chefdirigent 1887–1892

Hans von Bülow, der Uraufführungsdirigent des Tristan und geniale Beethoven- und Brahms-Interpret, verkörperte zu seiner Zeit den modernen Typ des Dirigenten: exzentrisch in der Gestik, kompromisslos, analytisch in der musikalischen Arbeit, ausdrucksstark im künstlerischen Ergebnis. Äußerlich nicht attraktiv, aber von vollendeter Eleganz – er dirigierte stets mit weißen Glacéhandschuhen – besaß er eine bezwingende, magische Ausstrahlung. Seine herrschaftlichen Attitüden und Extravaganzen waren bekannt – und wurden ihm verziehen, weil er vor allem eines war: ein Orchestererzieher höchsten Grades.

Heraus aus der braven Mittelmäßigkeit

Bülow hatte bereits aus der provinziellen Meininger Hofkapelle einen erstklassigen Klangkörper gemacht. Nun riss er die Berliner Philharmoniker, denen er eine große künstlerische Intelligenz bescheinigte, aus ihrer »braven Mittelmäßigkeit« (Allgemeine Musikzeitung) heraus und etablierte Standards, die die Grundlagen für den späteren Weltruhm des Orchesters bildeten. Trotz seiner Strenge, seiner unerbittlichen Arbeits- und Probenwut fühlten sich die Philharmoniker menschlich tief mit ihm verbunden. Fünf Jahre dauerte die Zusammenarbeit, ehe sich Bülow, der seit seiner Kindheit kränkelnd und nervenleidend gewesen war, aus gesundheitlichen Gründen aus dem Konzertbetrieb zurückzog. Er starb am 12. Februar 1894.

Intermezzo mit Richard Strauss

Sein Weggang hinterließ im Berliner Musikleben eine empfindliche Lücke. Konzertagent Hermann Wolff suchte vergeblich große Dirigenten wie Hans Richter und Felix Mottl zu engagieren, schließlich übergab er die musikalische Leitung seiner Abonnement-Konzerte dem jungen Richard Strauss, einem Zögling Bülows. Strauss, noch am Anfang seiner Karriere stehend und auf die Nachfolge Bülows hoffend, konnte jedoch mit seinen progressiven Programmen das Berliner Publikum nicht in die Philharmonie locken. Und Hermann Wolff hatte bald einen anderen Dirigenten im Auge: Arthur Nikisch.

Bülow
Hans von Bülow
Bülow/Wolff
In Berlin unterwegs: Hermann Wolff (li.) und Hans von Bülow

Newsletter-Service Regelmäßig informiert über das aktuelle Programm und Highlights aus der Welt der Philharmoniker.

Alle Veranstaltungen in der Philharmonie finden Sie auch auf:

Berliner Bühnenzu berlin-buehnen.de