Berliner Philharmoniker

Benjamin Bilse

He learned his craft from the bottom up: Benjamin Bilse, born in 1816 in the Silesian town of Liegnitz, received his training as a town musician at the age of 14, during the course of which he learned “the practical handling of almost all orchestral instruments.” He then set out into the world, including to Vienna, where he played violin in the orchestra of Johann Strauß the elder. In 1842 he returned to his hometown, where he conducted the town band. Bilse proved to be a good conductor and marketing strategist. He improved his ensemble’s artistic standard, ensured that young people were qualified to play with them by giving gifted young people without means music lessons free of charge, and toured extensively with his orchestra.

When he left Liegnitz in 1865, because the town council intended to reduce the musicians’ fees, the orchestra had already borne his name for a long time: Bilsesche Kapelle. In 1867 Benjamin Bilse and his musicians took up residence in Berlin and became both an artistic and a society institution with the concerts they held daily in the Konzerthaus at Leipziger Strasse during the winter season. People went to Bilse to hear good music, but also to initiate marriages. Bilse made use of various programme structures, catering to both intellectual and popular taste. Besides works of great masters and popular pieces, he enjoyed presenting the creations of young, unknown composers.

Bilse
The “Bilsesche Kapelle” (painting by Adolf Menzel)

The secession of the 54 founding members of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra in 1882 was a major professional setback for him. Though he did put together a new orchestra, he left Berlin three years later, returning to his native town of Liegnitz, where he died in 1902.

Hermann Wolff

Hermann Wolff, who was born in Cologne in 1845 and lived in Berlin from the age of 10, combined various talents in one: entrepreneurial spirit, business acumen and musicality. He had excellent contacts, knew many artists and had a sure feeling for promising composers. In short, he possessed all the prerequisites to become one of the most important and influential concert agents of his day. In 1880 he opened his own “Concert Bureau” in Berlin; from then on he dominated the music market of the time. No one else in his line of work had so many innovative ideas and such entrepreneurial spirit.

The Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra also profited from his business acumen. Not just that [Hermann] Wolff procured the most famous soloists and best conductors of his day for them, as well as engaging the services of Hans von Bülow and Arthur Nikisch as musical heads of the subscription concerts he mounted, he was constantly showing the orchestra new ways out of existential crises. His “philharmonic dinners” were legendary: Sunday meals to which he and his wife Luise, who had been an actress, invited the most important musical personages to their home. When Hermann Wolff, who had been so restless and driven, died surprisingly at the age of 56 on 3 February 1902, Luise Wolff took over the concert agency and managed it as he would have done.

Wolff
Hermann Wolff

Erich Sachs joined the business as a partner during the First World War. The agency continued to dominate the market. The end came for the Jewish company when the National Socialists seized power. Luise Wolff initiated the liquidation process in 1934 in order not to be subject to the repressive measures of the new rulers. She died in 1935 at the age of 80.

Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berliner BühnenGo to berlin-buehnen.de

Berliner Philharmoniker

Seitenblick

Benjamin Bilse

Er lernte sein Handwerk von der Pike auf: Benjamin Bilse, 1816 im schlesischen Liegnitz geboren, erhielt im Alter von 14 Jahren seine Ausbildung zum Stadtmusikanten, bei der er sich »die praktische Behandlung fast aller Orchesterinstrumente« aneignete. Anschließend zog es ihn hinaus in die Welt, u. a. auch nach Wien, wo er als Geiger im Orchester von Johann Strauß (Vater) spielte. 1842 kehrte er in seine Heimatstadt zurück und leitete die dortige Stadtkapelle. Bilse erwies sich als guter Dirigent und Marketingstratege. Er verbesserte das künstlerische Niveau seiner Kapelle, sorgte für künstlerischen Nachwuchs, indem er begabten, aber mittellosen Jugendlichen kostenlos Musikunterricht gab, und unternahm mit seinem Orchester ausgedehnte Konzertreisen.

Als er 1865 Liegnitz verließ, weil der Magistrat der Stadt die Musikerhonorare drücken wollte, trug das Orchester schon längst seinen Namen: Bilsesche Kapelle. 1867 ließen sich Benjamin Bilse und seine Musiker in Berlin nieder und wurden mit ihren Konzerten, die sie in der Wintersaison täglich im Konzerthaus in der Leipziger Straße gaben, sowohl eine künstlerische wie gesellschaftliche Institution. Man ging zu Bilse, um gute Musik zu hören, aber auch um Ehen anzubahnen. Bilse bediente verschiedene Programmstrukturen und traf damit sowohl den intellektuellen als auch den volkstümlichen Geschmack. Neben Werke großer Meister und populäre Stücke stellte er gern die Schöpfungen junger, unbekannter Komponisten.

Bilse
Die Bilsesche Kapelle (Gemälde von Adolf Menzel)

Die Abspaltung der 54 Gründungsmitglieder des Berliner Philharmonischen Orchesters 1882 bedeutete für ihn einen herben beruflichen Rückschlag. Er stellte sich zwar ein neues Orchester zusammen, verließ aber Berlin drei Jahre später und ging in seine Geburtsstadt Liegnitz zurück, wo er 1902 starb.

Hermann Wolff

Hermann Wolff, 1845 in Köln geboren und ab seinem 10. Lebensjahr in Berlin lebend, vereinte in sich verschiedene Talente: Unternehmergeist, kaufmännisches Geschick und Musikalität. Er verfügte über exzellente Kontakte, kannte viele Künstler und hatte ein ausgezeichnetes Gespür für vielversprechende Komponisten. Kurz, er besaß sämtliche Voraussetzungen, einer der wichtigsten und einflussreichsten Konzertagenten seiner Zeit zu werden. 1880 öffnete er in Berlin sein eigenes »Konzertbureau« und beherrschte seither den damaligen Musikmarkt. Kein anderer seiner Zunft verfügte über so viele innovative Ideen und solchen unternehmerischen Mut wie er.

Von seiner Geschäftstüchtigkeit profitierten auch die Berliner Philharmoniker. Nicht allein, dass [Hermann] Wolff ihnen die berühmtesten Solisten und besten Dirigenten jener Zeit vermittelte sowie Hans von Bülow und Arthur Nikisch als musikalische Chefs der von ihm veranstalteten philharmonischen Abonnementskonzerte engagierte, er zeigte dem Orchester immer wieder Wege aus existenziellen Krisen auf. Legendär waren seine »philharmonischen Diners«, jene Sonntagsessen, bei denen er und seine Frau Luise, eine ehemalige Schauspielerin, die wichtigsten Musikerpersönlichkeiten zu sich nach Hause luden. Als Hermann Wolff, der ewig Rastlose und Getriebene, am 3. Februar 1902 überraschend im Alter von 56 Jahren starb, übernahm Luise Wolff die Konzertdirektion und führte sie in seinem Sinne weiter.

Wolff
Hermann Wolff

Während des Ersten Weltkriegs stieg Erich Sachs als Teilhaber in das Geschäft ein. Die Agentur blieb auch weiterhin marktbeherrschend. Das Aus für das Unternehmen kam mit der Machtergreifung der Nationalsozialisten. Um sich nicht den Repressalien der neuen Herren aussetzen zu müssen, leitete Luise Wolff 1934 das Liquidationsverfahren ein. 1935 verstarb sie 80-jährig.

Newsletter-Service Regelmäßig informiert über das aktuelle Programm und Highlights aus der Welt der Philharmoniker.

Alle Veranstaltungen in der Philharmonie finden Sie auch auf:

Berliner Bühnen zu berlin-buehnen.de