History of the Berliner Philharmoniker
The beginning

The initial phase

An orchestra becomes independent

It started with an act of rebellion: in March 1882 50 members of the ensemble run by the popular musical director Benjamin Bilse refused to sign their new contracts – they found the working conditions too unfavourable: they were to earn hardly more than day labourers. The musicians decided to set up on their own and from then on to work at their own risk. The new orchestra first called itself – referring to their origin – “The Former Bilse’s Ensemble” and they pursued programming concepts similar to those of their former employer: at so-called “Popular Concerts” they usually relied more on entertaining works, while presenting more challenging works and “novelties”, i.e. new pieces by contemporary composers, in their “Symphony Concerts”.

Musical rebels

Back then, Berlin was by no means a prominent European musical capital. Other cities, namely Leipzig and Vienna, set the tone. They had a highly sophisticated concert scene and thus correspondingly imposing concert halls. In contrast, the first performances of the “Philharmonisches Orchester” – as the ensemble was soon called – took place in an open-air restaurant. Starting in the summer of 1882, the orchestra played in the hall of a former roller skating rink in Bernburger Strasse with 2,000 seats. After renovations and improvements, this developed into Berlin’s most important concert hall: the “Philharmonie”.

Struggle for existence

The ambitious young orchestra had high aspirations. The Philharmonic musicians enjoyed their first major successes under conductors like Ludwig von Brenner, Ernst Rudorff and particularly Franz Wüllner. However, their independence harboured financial risks: to be sure, the musicians received administrative support from the start from the enterprising concert agent Hermann Wolff, who organised a subscription series for them and provided them with professional advice. But very soon after their founding the orchestra was buffeted by a difficult crisis that threatened their existence.

To secure their existence in the long term, they entered into a co-operation with the Royal Music Conservatory, run by the famous violinist Joseph Joachim. The members of the philharmonic orchestra committed to making themselves available to the Conservatory for a certain number of concerts. But Joseph Joachim and Hermann Wolff were personages with different musical worldviews. Rivalry and competition arose between the two of them. Hermann Wolff succeeded in more strongly expanding his influence on the orchestra and in winning over one of the most significant conductors of his time as the principal conductor of his subscription concerts: Hans von Bülow.

Erste Aufnahme
The oldest remaining photo of the orchestra (1888)
Flora
Garden restaurant Flora
Wolff
Hermann Wolff
Philharmonie
Philharmonie in Bernburger Strasse
Joachim
Joseph Joachim

Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berliner BühnenGo to berlin-buehnen.de

Berliner Philharmoniker
Unser Partner Deutsche Bank

Geschichte der Berliner Philharmoniker
Die Anfangszeit

Der Auftakt

Ein Orchester macht sich selbständig

Am Anfang stand ein Akt der Rebellion: Im März 1882 weigerten sich 50 Mitglieder der Kapelle des populären Musikdirektors Benjamin Bilse ihre neuen Kontrakte zu unterscheiben – zu schlecht erschienen ihnen die Konditionen: So sollten sie kaum mehr verdienten als Tagelöhner. Die Musiker beschlossen sich selbständig zu machen und fortan auf eigenes Risiko zu arbeiten. Das neue Orchester nannte sich zunächst – mit Verweis auf seine Herkunft – »Ehemalige Bilsesche Kapelle« und verfolgte ähnliche Programmkonzepte wie sein früherer Arbeitgeber: In den sogenannten »Populären Konzerten« setzte es in der Regel mehr auf Unterhaltsames, während es in seinen »Sinfonie-Concerten« anspruchsvollere Werke und »Novitäten«, d.h. neue Stücke zeitgenössischer Komponisten, präsentierte.

Musikalische Rebellen

Berlin war damals noch keineswegs eine europäische Musikmetropole von Rang. Den Ton gaben andere Städte an: Leipzig oder Wien. Diese verfügten über ein entwickeltes Konzertwesen und entsprechend repräsentative Konzertsäle. Die ersten Auftritte des »Philharmonischen Orchesters« – wie sich die Formation bald nannte – fanden hingegen in einem Gartenlokal statt. Vom Sommer 1882 an spielte das Orchester im Saalbau einer ehemaligen Rollschuhbahn in der Bernburger Straße, die über 2000 Plätze verfügte. Nach Renovierungen und Umbauten avancierte dieser zu Berlins wichtigstem Konzertsaal: der »Philharmonie«.

Kampf um die Existenz

Das junge Orchester war sehr ehrgeizig und ambitioniert. Unter Dirigenten wie Ludwig von Brenner, Ernst Rudorff und vor allem Franz Wüllner feierten die Philharmoniker ihre ersten großen Erfolge. Die Selbstständigkeit barg jedoch finanzielle Risiken: Zwar bekamen die Musiker von Anfang an administrative Unterstützung von dem rührigen Konzertagenten Hermann Wolff, der mit ihnen eine eigene Abonnement-Reihe organisierte und sie sachkundig beriet. Doch schon bald nach der Gründung wurde das Orchester von einer schweren Existenzkrise gebeutelt.

Zur dauerhaften Sicherung ging es eine Kooperation mit der Königlichen Hochschule für Musik ein, die der berühmte Geiger Joseph Joachim leitete. Die Philharmoniker verpflichteten sich, der Hochschule für eine bestimmte Anzahl von Konzerten zur Verfügung zu stehen. Doch Joseph Joachim und Hermann Wolff waren zwei Persönlichkeiten mit unterschiedlichen musikalischen Weltanschauungen. Es kam zwischen ihnen zu Rivalitäten und Konkurrenz. Hermann Wolff gelang es, seinen Einfluss auf das Orchester stärker auszubauen und einen der bedeutendsten Dirigenten seiner Zeit als Ständigen Leiter seiner Abonnementskonzerte zu gewinnen: Hans von Bülow.

Erste Aufnahme
Erste erhaltene Aufnahme des Philharmonischen Orchesters (1888)
Flora
Gartenlokal Flora
Wolff
Hermann Wolff
Philharmonie
Philharmonie in der Bernburger Straße
Joachim
Joseph Joachim

Newsletter-Service Regelmäßig informiert über das aktuelle Programm und Highlights aus der Welt der Philharmoniker.

Alle Veranstaltungen in der Philharmonie finden Sie auch auf:

Berliner Bühnenzu berlin-buehnen.de