Berliner Philharmoniker
Freunde der Berliner Philharmoniker e.V.

Friends of the Berliner Philharmoniker e. V.

When we founded our association in 1949, we had only one goal in mind: to help the Berliner Philharmoniker in demolished postwar Berlin get a new concert hall. With great personal and financial dedication, the members contributed significantly to building Hans Scharoun’s Philharmonic Hall, and later also to constructing the Chamber Music Hall.

After that, it was time to set new goals: these days the friends are primarily involved in purchasing and financing instruments. But also improving the facilities of the Philharmonie, particularly its sound engineering, critically examining and presenting the history of the orchestra and the complete refurbishment of the organ in the Philharmonie are among the projects sponsored.

Instilling young adults with enthusiasm for working with the Philharmonic is one of our particular concerns. To that end, the “Young Friends” was founded in 2007; the group is open to fans of classical music up to the age of 35. Attractive and interesting opportunities are provided to the members of the association to experience the world of the Berliner Philharmoniker – whether as a Friend, Supporter or Patron. Every year there are three Sunday matinees with musicians of the orchestra, frequently complemented by lectures or discussions. Every season you also have the possibility to attend a dress rehearsal of the Berliner Philharmoniker. Supporters and Patrons are offered still other opportunities to get closer to the Berlin Philharmonic (see Offerings).

All contributions and donations are of course tax-deductible. Become a part of the Philharmonic family yourself – as a member of the Friends of the Berliner Philharmoniker. Support the orchestra’s activities and take advantage of the wide range of offerings.   


Video Teaser

Prof. Manfred Erhardt

In conversation with Helge Grünewald Prof. Manfred Erhardt, former Chairman of the Executive Board, describes history and objectives of the friends.

Watch the video

Gaurdagnini
From hand to hand: Axel Gerhardt, Prof. Manfred Erhardt, Martin Hoffmann, Andreas Buschatz (f.r.t.l.)
Guadagnini II

Presentation of the Guadagnini violin

For many years the violin from the workshop of Giovanni Battista Guadagnini (Milan, 1754) provided good service to the violinist Axel Gerhardt. The Friends of the Berliner Philharmoniker have now purchased the instrument from the former member of the orchestra and presented the violin on loan to the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation during a matinee on 16 June 2013. The Foundation will then in turn make the violin available on loan to concertmaster Andreas Buschatz. Axel Gerhardt will donate the entire purchase price of 600.000 euros to the National Youth Orchestra of Germany.

2 Nov. 2014 – “Who is the deepest of them all?”

They form the foundation, the base and the depths of the orchestra: the bass. In this matinee, not only the well-known and visible double basses will be presented, but also the “darkest voices” from the other groups, the double bassoon to bass tuba. In short conversations and unorthodox musical samples this event will represent the deepest Philharmonic through its sonorous instruments.

Current events

Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berliner Bühnen Go to berlin-buehnen.de

Freunde der Berliner Philharmoniker e.V.

Die Freunde der Berliner Philharmoniker e. V.

Als sich unser Verein 1949 gründete, gab es nur ein Ziel: den Berliner Philharmonikern im zerstörten Nachkriegs-Berlin zu einem neuen Konzertsaal zu verhelfen. Mit großem persönlichem und finanziellem Engagement trugen die Mitglieder maßgeblich zum Bau der Philharmonie von Hans Scharoun, später auch zum Bau des Kammermusiksaals bei.

Danach galt es, sich neue Ziele zu setzen: Heute engagieren sich die Freunde vorrangig für den Ankauf und die Finanzierung von Instrumenten. Aber auch die Verbesserung der Ausstattung der Philharmonie, insbesondere der Tontechnik, die Aufarbeitung und Darstellung der Geschichte des Orchesters und die Generalsanierung der Orgel in der Philharmonie gehören zu den Förderprojekten.

Video Preview

Junge Erwachsene für die philharmonische Arbeit zu begeistern, ist uns ein besonderes Anliegen. Dazu wurde im Jahr 2007 der »Junge Freundeskreis« gegründet, der für Klassikfans bis zum Alter von 35 Jahren offen steht. Den Mitgliedern des Vereins bieten sich attraktive und interessante Möglichkeiten, die Welt der Berliner Philharmoniker zu erleben – egal, ob als Freund, Förderer oder Mäzen. Jedes Jahr finden drei sonntägliche Matineen mit Musikern des Orchesters statt, die häufig von Vorträgen oder Diskussionen umrahmt werden. Pro Saison haben Sie außerdem die Möglichkeit, an einer Probe der Berliner Philharmoniker teilzunehmen. Den Förderern und Mäzenen bieten sich noch weitere Gelegenheiten, den Berliner Philharmonikern näher zu kommen (siehe Mitgliedschaften).

Alle Beiträge und Spenden sind selbstverständlich steuerlich absetzbar. Werden auch Sie Teil der philharmonischen Familie – als Mitglied bei den Freunden der Berliner Philharmoniker. Unterstützen Sie die Aktivitäten des Orchesters und nutzen Sie die Vielzahl unserer Angebote.

Video Teaser
Video Preview

Prof. Manfred Erhardt

Im Gespräch mit Helge Grünewald schildert Prof. Manfred Erhardt, ehemaliger Vorstandsvorsitzender des Vereins, Geschichte und Ziele des Freundeskreises.

Video ansehen

Gaurdagnini
Übergabe von Hand zu Hand: Axel Gerhardt, Prof. Manfred Erhardt, Martin Hoffmann, Andreas Buschatz (v.r.n.l.)
Guadagnini II

Übergabe der Guadagnini-Violine

Lange Jahre leistete sie dem Geiger Axel Gerhardt gute Dienste: die Violine aus der Werkstatt Giovanni Battista Guadagninis (Mailand 1754). Nun haben die Freunde der Berliner Philharmoniker das Instrument von dem ehemaligen Philharmoniker erworben und es im Rahmen der Matinee am 16. Juni 2013 leihweise der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker übergeben. Diese wiederum stellt die Geige dem Konzertmeister Andreas Buschatz zur Verfügung. Die komplette Kaufsumme von 600.000 Euro überlässt Axel Gerhardt dem Bundesjugendorchester.

2. Nov. 2014 – »Wer ist der Tiefste im ganzen Land?«

Sie bilden das Fundament, das Tiefgeschoss und den Abgrund des Orchesters: die Bässe. Aber nicht nur die allseits bekannten und sichtbaren Kontrabässe werden in dieser Matinee zu bestaunen sein, sondern auch die schwärzesten Stimmen aus den anderen Gruppen, vom Kontrafagott bis zur Basstuba. In kurzen Gesprächen und mit unorthodoxen musikalischen Kostproben stellen die tiefsten Philharmoniker ihre sonoren Instrumente vor.

aktuelles

Newsletter-Service Regelmäßig informiert über das aktuelle Programm und Highlights aus der Welt der Philharmoniker.

Alle Veranstaltungen in der Philharmonie finden Sie auch auf:

Berliner Bühnenzu berlin-buehnen.de