Berliner Philharmoniker

Save in my calendar keep abandon print

Chamber Music

David Aaron Carpenter Viola

Bernhard Hartog Violin

Rüdiger Liebermann Violin

Walter Küssner Viola

Stephan Koncz Cello

Felix Mendelssohn

String Quintet No. 1 in A major

Frank Bridge


Johannes Brahms

Clarinet Quintet in B minor (version for viola and string quartet)


Wed, 06 Feb 2013 8 p.m.



“It has been many years since I heard such a phenomenal talent as David Aaron Carpenter,” declared Christoph Eschenbach. “He combines an endless imagination with a staggering technique, and making music together with him is a true joy.” Born into a musical New York family, Carpenter has quickly developed into one of the most sought-after violists of his generation. Since his debut with the Philadelphia Orchstra under Eschenbach in 2005 he has performed with leading musicians and orchestras in both the USA and in Europe.

The young virtuoso, whose instrument was particularly admired by Berlioz for its “mournfully passionate … expressive powers” and “profound melancholy”, will be heard in Berlin together with Bernhard Hartog, Rüdiger Liebermann, Walter Küssner and Stephan Koncz.

The programme includes Brahms’s Clarinet Quintet in the version for viola and string quartet, a melancholy valediction which has been one of the composer’s most beloved works since its premiere at the Berlin Singakademie on 12 December 1891.

The English composer Frank Bridge expressed his reaction to the outbreak of World War I with another dark-hued, brooding work, his Lamento for viola. A similar tone pervades Mendelssohn’s first String Quartet, with its elegiac, at times tragic central Intermezzo.

2013-02-06_01 Carpenter, David Aaron (Charles Quiles).jpg

Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berliner BühnenGo to