Venus Ensemble Berlin | Berliner Philharmoniker
Berliner Philharmoniker

Venus Ensemble Berlin

Back to the chamber music group overview

Venus Ensemble Berlin

2 violins, viola, cello, piano (regular formation)


The Venus Ensemble made its first appearance in one of the Philharmonic chamber concerts on 20 January 2003 with a programme of works by Gubaidulina, Kodály and Shostakovich. Three musicians of the Berliner Philharmoniker – violinists Kotowa Machida and Felicitas Hofmeister and violist Julia Gartemann – together with the cellist Viola Hofmeister and pianist Tomoko Takahashi – had just teamed up with the aim of finding a niche for themselves in the still overwhelmingly male-dominated bastion of chamber music. The still young ensemble’s basic goal is creating a forum for music making, in smaller as well as variable formations, that is open to all female members of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berlin Bühnen Go to