Berliner Philharmoniker

To the schedule 2013/2014

Save in my calendar keep abandon print

Chamber Music

Simón Bolívar String Quartet:

Alejandro Carreño Violin

Boris Suárez Violin

Ismel Campos Viola

Aimon Mata Cello

Edicson Ruiz Doube Bass

Alberto Ginastera

String Quartet No. 1

Johannes Brahms

String Quartet No. 2 in A minor

Franz Anton Hoffmeister

Quartet for solo double bass, violin, viola and cello in D major

Juan Bautista Plaza

Fuga criolla (Version for string quintet)

Juan Bautista Plaza

Fuga romántica venezolana (Version for string quintet)

Aldemaro Romero

Fuga con Pajarillo from the Suite for strings No. 1 (Version for string quintet)

Dates and Tickets

Mon, 02 Dec 2013 8 p.m.

Philharmonie Foyer

Introduction: 7:00 pm


When Edicson Ruiz was admitted to the ranks of the Berliner Philharmoniker in 2003, he broke a record. At just 17 years of age, he was the youngest member ever to play in this orchestra! And yet the double bass virtuoso was far from being born into music: born in Caracas in 1985, he grew up with his mother in a poor district; after losing her job, she eked out a living as a taxi driver for a while. The by now legendary promotion of young musicians in Venezuela, the unique “sistema”, ultimately changed Ruiz’s life. The Simón Bolívar String Quartet also emerged from “el sistema”; the first chairs of the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra have founded a new Latin American chamber music tradition – Gustavo Dudamel, no less, has admired the “stirring power of their playing”. Together with Edicson Ruiz, the Simón Bolívar String Quartet can now be experienced in Berlin’s Chamber Music Hall. The programme will include Alberto Ginastera’s String Quartet No. 1, pervaded with pulsating, energetic dance rhythms, which the first violinist Alejandro Carreño without hesitation declares his favourite piece: “Whoever makes music should do so with passion, love, and all his heart.” Besides Brahms’s String Quartet No. 2 the programme also includes the rarely heard Quartet for bass, violin, viola and cello by Franz Anton Hoffmeister, whose compositions the music lexicographer Ernst Ludwig Gerber once celebrated as an “enhancement and advancement of instrumental music,” particularly because of his “beautiful works for instruments in concert”. The concert will be rounded off with chamber music from the young musicians’ home country: works by Venezuelan composers Juan Bautista Plaza und Aldemaro Romero.


Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berliner Bühnen Go to