Berliner Philharmoniker

Save in my calendar keep abandon print

Chamber Music

Ensemble Berlin:

Luiz Coelho Violin

Bettina Sartorius Violin

Walter Küssner Viola

Clemens Weigel Cello

Ulrich Wolff Double Bass

Christoph Hartmann Oboe

Mor Biron Bassoon

Henry Hargrave

Concerto No. 5 for oboe, bassoon and strings

Johann Sebastian Bach

»Ich habe genug«, from Cantata BWV 82 (arr. for oboe, bassoon, two violins, viola, cello and double bass)

Andrew Norman

"In Transition" Première of a work commissioned by the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Sinfonia, »Non più andrai farfallone amoroso« and »Voi che sapete che cosa è amor« from Le nozze di Figaro (arr. for oboe, bassoon and strings by Wolfgang Renz)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart/Franz Joseph Rosinack

Serenade in B flat major K. 361 "Gran Partita" (arr.)


Mon, 17 Dec 2012 8 p.m.



“Artless grace, pure innocence, mellow joy, the pain of a tender soul – all these the oboe can render admirably with its cantabile,” wrote Hector Berlioz in his famous treatise on instrumentation. It was the oboist Christoph Hartmann who founded the Ensemble Berlin, whose repertoire embraces classical chamber music and arrangements as well as original compositions. Traditional listening expectations are confounded and the familiar is displayed in unusual garb.

There can be no doubt that the programmes of Ensemble Berlin have much to offer those wanting to discover novel repertoire – for example the Concerto in F major by the English composer Henry Hargrave, who published five “galant” concertos between 1760 and 1765, or works by the young American Andrew Norman, who spent time in Berlin in 2010 as a fellow of the American Academy. But that the familiar can also acquire new aspects is proved by the septet arrangement of three arias from the famous cantata Ich habe genug BWV 82, of which Johann Sebastian Bach himself produced several variants.

The evening will also feature an arrangement of music from Mozart’s opera Le nozze di Figaroby the Augsburg oboist Wolfgang Renz, who has been collaborating with Ensemble Berlin for a number of years. And it will conclude with an 1805 arrangement of Mozart’s B flat Serenade, the “Gran Partita” K.361, by a certain Christian Friedrich Gottlieb Schwencke, the successor of C. P. E. Bach in Hamburg.


Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berliner BühnenGo to