Berliner Philharmoniker

Save in my calendar keep abandon print

Chamber Music

Members of the Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Conductor (Mahler)

Duncan Ward Conductor (Ben-Ari)

Guy Braunstein Violin

Zvi Plesser Cello

Ulrich Matthes Speaker

Concert on the International Holocaust Remembrance Day

Gustav Mahler

Adagietto from the Symphony No. 5

Sir Simon Rattle Conductor

Joseph Achron

Hebrew Melody (arr. for harp and string ensemble by Ohad Ben-Ari)

Max Bruch

Kol Nidrei (arr. for harp, cello and string ensemble by Ohad Ben-Ari)


Avinu, Malkenu for violin, cello and strings

Johann Sebastian Bach

Violin Concerto in A minor BWV 1041 (2nd Movement)

Ludwig van Beethoven

Romance No. 2 in F major (arr. for violin and string ensemble by Ohad Ben-Ari)

Ohad Ben-Ari

Violins of Hope for violin, cello and string ensemble Première of a work commissioned by the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation

Duncan Ward Conductor

Samuel Adler

Elegy for string orchestra

Texts on Alma Rosé and by Elie Wiesel plus presentation of instruments

Dates and Tickets

Tue, 27 Jan 2015 8 p.m.

Philharmonie Foyer

Introduction: 7:00 pm

Serie Non-subscription concert chamber music


“Never shall I forget that night, the first night in camp, that turned my life into one long night seven times sealed,” Elie Wiesel wrote in his autobiographical testimony Night, in which the author depicts his childhood experiences in concentration camps like Auschwitz. Suddenly there sounded the tone “of a violin in a dark barrack where the dead were piled on top of the living. Who was this madman, who played the violin here, at the edge of his own grave? Or was it a hallucination? It had to be Juliek. He was playing a fragment of a Beethoven concerto. […] All I could hear was the violin, and it was as if Juliek’s soul had become his bow. He was playing his life. His whole being was gliding over the strings. His unfulfilled hopes. His charred past, his extinguished future. He played that which he would never play again. I shall never forget Juliek. How could I forget this concert given before an audience of the dead and dying?”

Members of the Berliner Philharmoniker commemorate the Shoah together with Sir Simon Rattle and their former principal concertmaster Guy Braunstein. The musicians will play works by Israeli and German composers on instruments that accompanied concentration camp inmates in Auschwitz on their way towards death and have outlasted the time of horror. They were collected and restored by Israeli luthier Amnon Weinstein: “Each instrument is like the tombstone for a missing grave, for bodies that were burned to ashes and that they denied a burial.” The concert will be accompanied by readings, including excerpts from Elie Wiesel’s Night.

Sir Simon Rattle
Guy Braunstein Zvi Plesser
Violins of Hope

Violins of Hope

A concert and exhibition project to commemorate the victims of the Holocaust

read more

Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berlin Bühnen Go to