Berliner Philharmoniker

Save in my calendar keep abandon print

Chamber Music

Arditti Quartet plays Kurtág and Ligeti

Their passion for contemporary music makes the Arditti Quartet one of the leading ensembles for new music. When they perform in the Chamber Music Hall they will present a Hungarian-British program: besides string quartets by György Kurtág and György Ligeti that can almost be called classical, the concert includes a new opus by Julian Anderson and works by Jonathan Harvey and James Clarke.

Arditti Quartet:

Irvine Arditti Violin

Ashot Sarkissjan Violin

Ralph Ehlers Viola

Lucas Fels Cello

James Clarke

String Quartet No. 1

Jonathan Harvey

String Quartet No. 2

Julian Anderson

String Quartet No. 2 German Première commissioned by the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation and the Wigmore Hall with the generous support of André Hoffmann, President of the Fondation Hoffmann

György Kurtág

String Quartet

György Ligeti

String Quartet No. 2

Dates and Tickets

Thu, 09 Oct 2014 8 p.m.

Philharmonie Foyer

Introduction: 7:00 pm


The Arditti Quartet focuses on contemporary music with great success. Forty years ago, the first violinist Irvine Arditti launched the ensemble driven by passion for the musical avantgarde. Since then, they have not only interpreted new music in perfect form, but have also premiered several hundred string quartets. “The adventure of presenting a piece to the audience for the very first time – there’s no substitute for that. At least not for me,” raves Irvine Arditti. For this concert, too, the four string players will arrive with a completely new work: they will give the German premiere of the Second String Quartet by British composer Julian Anderson, commissioned by the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, the Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker and Wigmore Hall.

The other two works on the first half of the concert are also by composers from Great Britain. James Clarke’s First String Quartet features an obsessive, forward-pressing voice. A press review wrote that the work is rock music using other means. Jonathan Harvey’s Second String Quartet seems more fragile, more transcendent, more mystical but no less expressive. Both two works were written especially for the Arditti Quartet, and they fuel their preference for rhythmic precision, articulation as keen as a razor, and clarity of form. On the second half, the Ardittis will play two “classics” of contemporary string quartet literature: György Kurtág’s early Opus 1 from 1959 and fellow Hungarian György Ligeti’s Second String Quartet, composed about a decade later.

Arditti Quartett
From Classical to Contemporary

From Classical to Contemporary

The string quartets 2014/2015

read more

Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berlin Bühnen Go to