Berliner Philharmoniker

To the schedule 2013/2014

Save in my calendar keep abandon print


Shin-Young Lee Organ

Stefan Schulz Trombone

Johann Sebastian Bach

Organ Concerto in D minor BWV 596

Franz Liszt

Hosannah (Alleluja del Cantico del Sol) for trombone and organ

César Franck

Prélude, fugue et variation in B minor op. 18

Remo Giazotto

Adagio in G minor (originally attributed to tomaso Albinoni) (Version for trombone and organ)

Charles Tournemire

Improvisation on Victimae paschali laudes (transcr. by Maurice Duruflé)

Jörg Duda

Work for trombone and organ Première

Maurice Duruflé

Prélude et fugue sur le nom d'Alain

Alexandre Guilmant

Morceau symphonique for trombone and organ in E flat major op. 88

Dates and Tickets

Sun, 23 Mar 2014 12 p.m.

Chamber Music Hall Foyer

Introduction: 11:15 am


Shin-Young Lee began playing the piano at the age of four and changed to the organ when she was 17. Following her training in Seoul, the Korean organist continued her studies at the Schola Cantorum in Paris before completing her education at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique where her teachers included the Notre Dame organist Olivier Latry.

In her debut concert, Shin-Young Lee presents a varied programme which focuses on works by French composers who are connected by a teacher-student relationship: César Franck, Charles Tournemire and Maurice Duruflé. Franck, who wrote his Prelude, fugue et variation in B minor for his friend and fellow composer Camille Saint-Saëns, was the teacher of Charles Tournemire. He, in turn, taught Maurice Duruflé, who not only transcribed Tournemire’s Improvisation on the Gregorian Easter sequence Victimae paschali laudes for organ, but also created his own works. His Prélude et Fugue sur le nom d’Alain was composed in memory of a friend who was killed during World War II.

Together with the Philharmoniker trombonist Stefan Schulz, Shin-Young Lee also performs the première of a new work by Jörg Duda. Further works in the programme include Remo Giazotto’s Adagio in G minor for trombone and organ, which is said to be based on fragments of a trio sonata by Tomaso Albinoni, and Liszt’s Hosiannah, one of the composer’s own arrangements of his Cantico del Sol di San Francesco d’Assisi, and finally, Morceau Symphonique by Alexandre Guilmant, a leading representative of the French Romantic organ style.


Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berliner Bühnen Go to