Berliner Philharmoniker

To the schedule 2013/2014

Save in my calendar keep abandon print

Chamber Music

Igor Levit Piano

Georg Muffat

Passacaglia in G minor

Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Sonata No. 30 in E major

Frederic Rzewski

»Which Side Are You On?«, No. 2 from the North American Ballads

Richard Wagner

Feierlicher Marsch zum heiligen Gral from Parsifal (arr. for piano Franz Liszt)

Franz Liszt

Fantasy and Fugue on the Chorale Ad nos, ad salutarem undam (arr. for piano Ferruccio Busoni)

Dates and Tickets

Tue, 03 Dec 2013 8 p.m.

Philharmonie Foyer

Introduction: 7:00 pm


Igor Levit is the new star of the piano scene – a young musician who was hailed by the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung in 2010 as “one of the great pianists of this century.” He recently finished his piano studies in Hanover with the highest score ever awarded in the history of the college. He constantly surprises his audiences with unusual and exceptionally technically demanding programmes covering a wide-ranging repertoire. In Berlin, Igor Levit will present the Passacaglia in G minor from Georg Muffat’s 1690 collection Apparatus musico-organisticus, a composer who in musical history forms the transition between Lully’s world of form and the Italian style of Corelli. After Beethoven’s Piano Sonata in E major op. 109 comes the second of the North American Ballads, “Which Side Are You On”, by the American composer Frederic Rzewski – a work whose “chiaroscuro” effects take it to the limits of playability. As a composer-pianist who creates his pieces entirely in line with his own virtuoso abilities, Rzewski continues the 19th century tradition of the virtuoso pianist – which of course included Franz Liszt. His adaptation of Wagner’s Feierlicher Marsch zum heiligen Gral aus dem Bühnenweihfestspiel »Parsifal« does not keep particularly closely to the original, but appears rather as a dream-like vision of the Grail march. The programme closes with Liszt’s great organ fantasy Ad nos, ad salutarem undam in the equally free arrangement for piano by Ferruccio Busoni.


Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berliner Bühnen Go to