Berliner Philharmoniker

To the schedule 2013/2014

Save in my calendar keep abandon print

Chamber Music

Berlin Baroque Solists

Gottfried von der Goltz Violin and Direction

Kristian Bezuidenhout Fortepiano

Jacques Zoon Flute

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Concerto for fortepiano, strings and continuo in C major Wq 20

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Concerto for flute, strings and continuo in D minor Wq 22

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Symphonie für Streicher und Basso continuo in B minor Wq 182 No. 5

Johann Sebastian Bach

Ricercare a sei from The Musical Offering BWV 1079

Johann Sebastian Bach

Concerto for flute, violin, harpsichord, strings and continuo in A minor BWV 1044

Dates and Tickets

Sat, 08 Mar 2014 8 p.m.

Chamber Music Hall

Introduction: 7:00 pm


The oeuvre of Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach marks the transition from the Baroque era to the new age of Empfindsamkeit, or sensibility: choral and contrapuntal writing yield centre stage to works erupting with emotion. Ultimately, music should “principally touch the heart”, and so, in the case of the String Symphonies Wq 182, the composer complied with the wish of their commissioner to “let himself go entirely”. When Carl Philipp Emanuel came to Berlin in 1738, he promptly received “a call from the then Crown Prince of Prussia”, later to become King Frederick II – Frederick the Great – to enter into his service as chamber harpsichordist. Despite many other offers, he remained in Prussian court service for nearly three decades. Not until 1767 did he take up the position of music director of the city of Hamburg, following in the footsteps of his godfather Georg Philipp Telemann. In celebration of the 300th anniversary of the composer’s birth, Gottfried von der Goltz leads the Berlin Baroque Soloists from the violin, joined by Kristjan Bezuidenhout on fortepiano and Jacques Zoon on flute, to perform works by C. P. E. Bach. The programme includes the Symphonies in A major and B minor, Wq 182 Nos. 4 and 5, in which the notion of “Storm and Stress” finds full musical expression, as well as the Concertos for Fortepiano in C major, Wq 20, and for Flute in D minor, Wq 22. Additionally you’ll hear Johann Sebastian Bach’s mighty six-voice ricercare from the Musical Offering and his Triple Concerto for harpsichord, flute, violin and strings, in which the rich interplay of parts produces a dazzling kaleidoscope of sound.

Original Sounds  – Baroque soundscapes

Original Sounds – Baroque soundscapes

The artists and ensembles of the concert series

read more

Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berliner Bühnen Go to