Berliner Philharmoniker

To the schedule 2013/2014

Save in my calendar keep abandon print

Chamber Music

Magdalena Kožená Mezzo-Soprano

Les Violons du Roy

Bernard Labadie Direction

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Symphony No. 33 in B flat major

Joseph Haydn

Cantata Arianna a Naxos

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Non più di fiori, Aria of Vitellia from La clemenza di Tito

Joseph Haydn

Symphony No. 85 in B flat major The Queen

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Rondo Deh per questo istante solo and Aria Parto, ma tu ben mio of Sesto from La clemenza di Tito

Dates and Tickets

Mon, 13 Jan 2014 8 p.m.

Philharmonie Foyer

Introduction: 7:00 pm


The “Vingt-quatre Violons du Roy”, which was established in 1626 under Louis XIII, played a significant role in festivities and official occasions at the French court. It was after this group that the Canadian conductor Bernard Labadie named his chamber orchestra Les Violons du Roy, founded in 1985 – an exquisite and sparkling ensemble devoted to Classical and Baroque repertoire with historically informed performances on modern instruments: “My strings,” says Labadie, “always carry three bows with them, ‛transitional bows’ for the music of Haydn and Mozart, Baroque bows for the music of Bach, Handel and Telemann, and of course modern ones for the music that was composed later. It is truly remarkable how changing them alters the sound of the orchestra, as it allows the phrasing and slurs the composer intended to appear quite natural.” For their debut concert at the Philharmonie in Berlin, Les Violons du Roy and Bernard Labadie will perform Joseph Haydn’s Symphony No. 85 in B flat major La Reine (which is said to have been a particular favourite of the French Queen Marie Antoinette) and Mozart’s Symphony in B flat major K. 319. They will also accompany Magdalena Kožená in Haydn’s cantata Arianna à Naxos – a work in which all the forms and emotional richness of Italian opera are employed to express emotional extremes – and the equally dramatically-charged arias “Non più di fiori”, “Deh, per questo istante solo” and “Parto, ma tu ben mio” from Mozart’s opera La clemenza di Tito.

Original Sounds  – Baroque soundscapes

Original Sounds – Baroque soundscapes

The artists and ensembles of the concert series

read more

Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berliner Bühnen Go to