Berliner Philharmoniker

Artist in Residence 2013/2014
Christian Gerhaher

Christian Gerhaher and the Berliner Philharmoniker, a ten year-long artistic collaboration: Since his debut with the orchestra in December 2003, when he sang the baritone solo in Benjamin Brittenʼs War Requiem, Gerhaher has taken part in a series of spectacular concerts, such as the performances of Robert Schumannʼs Paradise and the Peri, Carl Orffʼs Carmina Burana, and Peter Sellarsʼ staging of Johann Sebastian Bachʼs Matthew Passion. The Bavarian-born artist can also be heard in the latter two works in the 2013/2014 season – as the orchestraʼs artist in residence.

Bach, Schubert, Mahler, Fauré and Orff
In his role as artist in residence, Christian Gerhaher will also present a number of other exciting projects: at the beginning of the season, he sings Mahlerʼs Songs of a Wayfarer under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle. He also takes the title role, a character driven by the search for meaning and a thirst for knowledge, in Robert Schumannʼs Scenes from Goetheʼs Faust, a role with which he – according to the critic of the Frankfurter Rundschau – “sends one shiver after another down the spine” of the audience. Then of course there is Bachʼs St. John Passion, in which Gerhaher takes on the roles of Pilate and Peter. Fans of the more intimate song recital should not miss his interpretations of Schubertʼs song cycles Die schöne Müllerin and Die Winterreise, both based on poems by Wilhelm Müller. The baritone and his accompanist Gerold Huber will themselves introduce the audience to the world of ideas and sounds of the poet and the composer in a lecture and discussion. Together with members of the Scharoun Ensemble, the singer will conjure up very different musical spheres in Gabriel Fauréʼs cycle La Bonne Chanson, based on poems by Paul Verlaine.

Unique artistic partnership
With his warm, lyrical timbre and his clear diction, Christian Gerhaher is often compared to his idol Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, and Gerhaher received valuable advice and inspiration in master classes from him and other great singers, including Elisabeth Schwarzkopf and Inge Borkh. According to the artist himself, the guarantor for his success as a lieder singer is his long-time accompanist Gerold Huber. The two of them met in their youth in Bavaria, have grown together as a duo and celebrate international success not only with their concert performances, but also with their frequently award-winning recordings.

Video Preview Christian Gerhaher as soloist in Gabriel Fauré’s Requiem (April 2012)

Email newsletter While we do not provide an English newsletter for the Berlin Philharmonie, you might be interested in the English Digital Concert Hall newsletter.

All programmes may also be found at: Berlin Bühnen Go to

Berliner Philharmoniker

Artist in Residence 2013/2014
Christian Gerhaher

Christian Gerhaher und die Berliner Philharmoniker verbindet eine bereits zehn Jahre währende künstlerische Zusammenarbeit: Seit seinem philharmonischen Debüt im Dezember 2003, bei dem er das Bariton-Solo in Benjamin Brittens War Requiem sang, wirkte Gerhaher bei einer Reihe aufsehenerregender Konzerte mit, beispielsweise in Aufführungen von Robert Schumanns Das Paradies und die Peri, Carl Orffs Carmina Burana, oder bei der von Peter Sellars Inszenierten Matthäus-Passion von Johann Sebastian Bach. In den beiden letztgenannten ist der aus dem niederbayerischen Straubing stammende Künstler auch in der Saison 2013/2014 zu erleben – als Artist in Residence.

Bach, Schubert, Mahler, Fauré und Orff
In dieser Funktion präsentiert Christian Gerhaher jedoch noch eine Reihe weiterer spannender Projekte: Zum Saisonbeginn interpretiert er unter der Leitung von Sir Simon Rattle Gustav Mahlers Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen. Außerdem singt er in Robert Schumanns Szenen aus Goethes Faust den von Sinnsuche und Wissensdurst getriebenen Titelhelden, eine Partie, mit der er – laut dem Kritiker der Frankfurter Rundschau – seinem Publikum »einen Schauer nach dem anderen über den Rücken laufen lässt«. Nicht zu vergessen Bachs Johannes-Passion, in der Gerhaher die Partien des Pilatus und Petrus übernimmt. Freunde der intimen Form des Liederabends sollten sich seine Interpretationen von Schuberts Liederzyklen Die schöne Müllerin und Die Winterreise nicht entgehen lassen, die beide auf Gedichten von Wilhelm Müller basieren. In die romantische Ideen- und Klangwelt von Dichter und Komponist führen der Bariton und sein Klavierpartner Gerold Huber ihr Publikum in einem eigenen Vortrags- und Gesprächsabend ein. Ganz andere musikalische Sphären beschwört der Sänger gemeinsam mit Mitgliedern des Scharoun Ensembles in Gabriel Faurés Zyklus La Bonne Chanson nach Gedichten von Paul Verlaine.

Eine einmalige künstlerische Partnerschaft
Wegen seines warmen, lyrischen Stimmtimbres und seiner klaren Diktion wird Christian Gerhaher oftmals mit seinem großen Vorbild Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau verglichen. Bei ihm wie auch bei anderen großen Sängern, u. a. Elisabeth Schwarzkopf und Inge Borkh, hat sich Gerhaher im Rahmen von Meisterkursen wichtige Inspirationen und stimmliche Anregungen geholt. Garant für seinen Erfolg als Liedsänger ist nach eigener Aussage des Künstlers sein langjähriger Liedbegleiter Gerold Huber. Die beiden haben in ihrer Straubinger Jugendzeit zusammengefunden, sind als Duo zusammengewachsen und feiern nicht nur mit ihren Konzertauftritten, sondern auch mit ihren oftmals preisgekrönten CD-Einspielung internationale Erfolge.

Video Preview Christian Gerhaher als Solist in Gabriel Faurés Requiem (April 2012)

Konzerte

Zum Konzertkalender
Für die gewählte Auswahl sind keine Konzerte verfügbar.

Newsletter-Service Regelmäßig informiert über das aktuelle Programm und Highlights aus der Welt der Philharmoniker.

Alle Veranstaltungen in der Philharmonie finden Sie auch auf:

Berliner Bühnenzu berlin-buehnen.de